Is it or isn’t it gluten free? Rice May 11, 2011Posted by @Melonie in : Is It or Isn't It? , trackback
Grains can be the most confusing thing to figure out. I’m often asked by servers if rice is ok because people aren’t highly educated about different types of grains. It’s not the level of detail taught in elementary school. Or in college for that matter.
Rice is a gluten free grain. It is not a wheat product and typically does not carry the risk of cross contamination in factory processing. Especially if you make it at home and rinse it thoroughly prior to cooking.
Rice is in fact a go-to staple and wheat substitute allowing you to keep common items in your diet like rice pasta or noodles, and rice flour bread, cake or dusting for fried foods. Rice flour will need to be mixed with other gluten free grains to mimic the airy texture of cake or bread because it’s dense and heavy.
Be aware that many processed boxed rice products contain wheat in the seasoning mix. Look for ingredients such as modified food starch, wheat flour or gluten. If you’re dairy free look for milk, cream and whey. These are risks both off the shelf and dining out. Stick to plain rice and you’ll be safe.